Training Advisory Committee of SESAME (TrAC)

The Training Advisory Committee (TrAC) is responsible for providing the SESAME Council with recommendations on SESAME’s training programme, and the organization and implementation of this programme, which is designed to ensure that the scientific community in the SESAME region is equipped with the skills required to use the SESAME machine effectively and so generate first-class research results.
The members of the TrAC are appointed by the SESAME Council. In parallel, each SESAME Member may appoint a contact person charged with providing the TrAC with information on the training needs in that Member and transmitting information on training opportunities to users in the SESAME Member.
The Terms of Reference of the TrAC are laid down by the SESAME Council.
The TrAC meets as often as needed, but not less than once a year.

Committee Membership:

Committee Member Home Institution

Javad RAHIGHI (Chair) Professor of Experimental Physics, School of Particles and Accelerators, Institute for Research in Fundamental Sciences (IPM), Tehran, Iran
Wolfgang EBERHARDT Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DESY), Hamburg, Germany
François FAUTH Experiments Division, ALBA Synchrotron Light Facility, Spain
Lisa M. MILLER National Synchrotron Light Source-II, Brookhaven National Laboratory, Upton, New York, USA
Maarten NACHTEGAAL Head in situ X-ray spectroscopy group (IXS), Laboratory Bioenergy and Catalysis & Laboratory for Catalysis and Sustainable Chemistry, Paul Scherrer Institute, Villigen, Switzerland
Andrew William THOMPSON Soleil Synchrotron, Gif-sur-Yvette, France
Ex officio Members  
Scientific Director of SESAME (Secretary of the TrAC)  
IICTP (Joseph NIEMELA) Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP), Trieste, Italy

Follow us