• The page you are trying to access does not exist.


JSPS School Program

The JSPS School Program is shown below:

Day Lecture Instructor Note


Synchrotron radiation and accelerator physics Dr. Amor Nadji (Synchrotron SOLEIL)
General description of the beamlines for SR application Prof. Noriyuki Igarashi (Photon Factory, KEK)
SX/Device/Beamline Prof. Hiroshi Kumigashira (Photon Factory, KEK)
XAFS Prof. Hitoshi Abe (Photon Factory, KEK)
SX/physics Prof. Kenta Amemiya (Photon Factory, KEK)
Structural Physics/BL Prof. Hironori Nakao (Photon Factory, KEK) Parallel Lectures: Materials Science
Powder Diffraction Prof. Eiji Nishibori (Nagoya Univ.)
X-ray imaging technique Prof. Wataru Yashiro (The Univ. of Tokyo)
Protein Crystallography Prof. Noriyuki Igarashi (Photon Factory, KEK)

Parallel Lectures: Life Science

Protein Crystallography beamlines Dr. Takashi Kumasaka (JASRI/SPring-8)
SAX-biology Prof. Zehra Sayers (Sabanci Univ.)
Time Resolved-The pulsed nature of synchrotron radiation Prof. Shin-ichi Adachi (Photon Factory, KEK)
Infrared (IR) and terahertz (THz) spectroscopies Prof. Shin-ichi Kimura (Institute of Molecular Science)
XFA Prof. Izumi Nakai (Tokyo Univ. of Science) (Prof. Chiya Numako (Chiba Univ.)
Nov,15     Powder Diffraction Nishibori, Nakao, Yashiro Practical sessions    
Protein Crystallography Kumasaka, Igarashi, Adachi
Electronic structure Kumigashira, Kimura, Horiba
XAFS Abe, Amemiya
X-ray Fluorescence Analysis Numako, Nakai
Nov,16 Presentations by students    

Prof. Shin-ichi Kimura (Institute of Molecular Science)

Back to the "9th SESAME Users' Meeting and SESAME-JSPS School" news article


SESAME is located in Allan, Jordan (30 km from Amman and 30 km from the King Hussein/Allenby Bridge crossing of the Jordan River).

Jordan was selected as the site in a competition among seven countries from the region.

SESAME site Latitude:    32.109987

SESAME site Longitude:  35.736679



The Council is the governing body of SESAME. It came into existence on 15 April 2004 after UNESCO (United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization), which is the depository of the Statutes of SESAME, had received the required six instruments of acceptance of the draft statutes from eligible potential Members.

It replaced the international Interim Council of SESAME that served from June 1999 to mid-April 2004 and had been set up to take the necessary measures to prepare the establishment and operation of an international centre.

The SESAME Council consists of Members and Observers, who may be potential initial Members or Observers, other states and international organisations. A potential initial Member or Observer is an entity that was a Member or Observer in the international Interim Council of SESAME.

The SESAME Council elects its own President and two Vice-Presidents who hold office for two years and may be re-elected for one more term.

The SESAME Council has all the powers required for the running and administration of the Centre and determines SESAME's policy in scientific, technical and administrative matters. It adopts its own Rules of Procedure and the Centre's programme and budget, and decides on the upper and lower limits of Members' contributions to the annual operating budget. It approves SESAME's financial and staff regulations. It examines the annual reports submitted to it by the Director of the Centre and issues him/her with such directives as it thinks fit. It reviews expenditures and approves and publishes annual accounts of SESAME. It appoints the Directorate of SESAME and decides on the establishment of staff posts required.

Each Member and Observer may have up to two Delegates serving on the Council, ideally one representing his/her Governmental Authorities and the second representing national scientific interests. Both delegates are nominated by their Governmental Authorities. They may be accompanied to Council meetings by up to two Advisers. A representative of the Director-General of UNESCO also sits on the Council. Each Member and the representative of the Director-General of UNESCO have one vote. Observers have no vote.

The Council is to meet in ordinary session at least once a year. It may meet in an extraordinary session if so summoned by the President, either on his/her own initiative or on that of the Director-General of UNESCO, or at the request of one-third of its Members. During the early years of the project the Council is meeting in ordinary session twice a year.

The Council is advised on all matters of financial management by the Finance Committee.

The Council has four Committees to advise it on SESAME's equipment and scientific and training programmes, namely the:

Beamlines Advisory Committee for the conceptual design of the SESAME beamlines;

Scientific Advisory Committee for the planning of the overall scientific management of the programme;

Technical Advisory Committee for the design and construction of the SESAME machine; and

Training Advisory Committee for the training of personnel and users.