## THIRTIETH MEETING OF THE COUNCIL OF SESAME

## Amman Marriott Hotel, Amman, Jordan, 17 May 2017

## Decisions

The Council of SESAME took the following decisions at its 30<sup>th</sup> meeting:

- Bahrain's cessation of membership, and the notification of this that the 30 C/Decision 1 President of the Council sent to the Director-General of UNESCO on 2 April 2017, are recorded. It is with effect from 1 April 2017 that Bahrain ceased to be a Member. Notification was sent to the Director-General in line with Article XII.1 of the Statutes of SESAME that lays down that the President of the Council is to notify the Director-General of UNESCO of any withdrawal. Not having paid its contributions since 2005, Bahrain had been deemed to have renounced its Membership of SESAME in accordance with Article XI.1 of the Statutes, and in accordance with Article XI.2, the other Members of the Council having unanimously decided during the closed session of the 29<sup>th</sup> Meeting of the Council, that Bahrain would cease to be a Member if it did not respond by 28 February to a request from the Council that it actively re-engage with SESAME. This confidential decision of the 29<sup>th</sup> Meeting had been recorded in the report on the closed session of the said meeting. (Decision taken during the closed session)
- 30 C/Decision 2 Canada's observer status with effect from 13 December 2016 is recorded. (Decision taken during the closed session)
- 30 C/Decision 3 CERN's observer status in SESAME would be unanimously welcomed and the President of the Council will write to the Director General of CERN about the possibility of CERN seeking such status. (*Decision taken during the closed session*)
- 30 C/Decision 4 Mr Najibullah Khan (Pakistan) will be invited to serve as Chair of the Finance Committee for a period of two years that takes effect immediately following the 30<sup>th</sup> Council meeting. (*Decision taken during the closed session*)
- 30 C/Decision 5 Dr Graham Neil George (Canada) and Dr Marco Stampanoni (Switzerland) will be invited to serve on SESAME's Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC). Their membership will take effect immediately following the 30<sup>th</sup> Council meeting. They will replace two of the SAC members being rotated, namely Professor Salvador Ferrer Fabregas (Spain) and Dr Maya Kiskinova (Italy/Bulgaria). (Decision taken during the closed session)
- 30 C/Decision 6 In recognition of his exceptionally good presidency of the Council, the Members unanimously decided that Professor Sir Chris Llewellyn Smith,

will be given the title of International Delegate to the SESAME Council, he will always be invited to the meetings of the Council, and the recently-completed Guest House will be named after him.