EIGHTEENTH MEETING OF THE COUNCIL OF SESAME El Hassan Science City (EHSC), Amman, Jordan, 30-31 May 2011

Decisions

The Council of SESAME took the following decisions at its 18th meeting:

- 1. The Observers will send the Scientific Director information on training opportunities in their respective countries so that it is communicated to delegates of Members and posted on the web site of SESAME.
- 2. SESAME will take up CERN's offer to produce the main ring magnet system, with funding for hardware from the European Commission (EC). Should funding from the EC not be available in time to keep to the schedule for commissioning of the machine in 2015, funds provided by some Members of SESAME could be loaned to allow hardware purchases to proceed on the necessary timetable.
- 3. At the 19th Council meeting, it would be important to set in train revision of the 2010-2014 Strategic Plan. This Plan need not necessarily retain information on the history of the project, but should give information on the funds and support provided by foreign laboratories.
- 4. The proposed regular budget of US\$2,326,186.80 for 2012 is provisionally approved. Members will seek authorization from their Authorities for a 5% increase in their contributions for 2012. This will imply the following contributions: Bahrain US\$209,302.73, Cyprus US\$209,302.73, Egypt US\$215,749.26, Iran US\$368,372.81, Israel US\$368,372.81, Jordan US\$209,302.73, Pakistan US\$368,372.81, Palestinian Authority US\$52,500.00, and Turkey US\$368,372.81.
- 5. A press release will be issued so that information on the advancement of the project may be disseminated as widely as possible. The text will be produced by the President of the Council and sent it to the delegates of Members for endorsement. It will be issued by UNESCO. (*Decision taken during the closed session*)
- 6. The Technical Director, Dr Amor Nadji, is re-appointed for a further four years. (Decision taken during the closed session)
- 7. The current Chair of the Finance Committee, Professor Salman M. Salman, will serve for a further term of two years. (*Decision taken during the closed session*)
- 8. A vote on the two nominations for the position of second co-Vice President is foreseen at the 19th Council meeting under the existing Rules, with no new nominations. Meanwhile, the Secretary of Council has undertaken to consult the Members on the issue of the Vice-Presidency. (*Decision taken during the closed session*)

- 9. Friso Van Der Veen (Netherlands) will be invited to become a member of the Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC). Mark Thomas Heron (UK) will be invited to become a member of the Technical Advisory Committee (TAC). Javaid Bashir (Pakistan), Steve Jones (UK), Aisha Mohamed Mohamed Moustafa (Egypt) and Jean Susini (France) will be invited to become members of the Training Advisory Committee (TrAC). The status on TrAC of Osamu Shimomura (Japan) will be changed from alternate to Shin-ichi Kurokawa to full membership. (*Decision taken during the closed session*)
- 10. A resolution in support of the proposed International Year of Crystallography (IYCr) in 2013 is adopted.