TWENTY-SEVENTH MEETING OF THE COUNCIL OF SESAME

Amman Marriott Hotel, Amman, Jordan, 29-30 November 2015

Decisions

The Council of SESAME took the following decisions at its 27th meeting:

- 1. A representative of COMSATS (Commission on Science and Technology for Sustainable Development in the South) will be invited to participate in the 28th Council meeting so that the Commission may better familiarize itself with SESAME and the role of Observers. (*Decision taken during the closed session*)
- 2. The 2016 operational budget will be US\$3,613,849. It will be distributed among the Members as follows: Bahrain US\$321,820.75, Cyprus US\$321,815.87, Egypt US\$331,727.80, Iran US\$566,395.95, Israel US\$566,395.95, Jordan US\$321,815.87, Pakistan US\$566,395.95, and Turkey US\$\$566,395.95. In view of the particular situation of the Palestinian Authority, its contribution to the 2016 budget will be kept at US\$50,000. (Decision taken during the closed session)
- 3. The President will write to Mr Maciej Nalecz on behalf of the Council to thank him for his outstanding contribution to SESAME ever since the start of his association with the project in October 2001 as representative of the Director-General of UNESCO, first on the interim and then on the permanent Council, and as Secretary of the Council. (Decision taken during the closed session)
- 4. In the long run, the position of Secretary of the Council will move to SESAME. In the meantime, it will be held by Ms Clarissa Formosa Gauci who has *de facto* been carrying out the tasks incumbent on this position ever since the creation of SESAME in 2004 and before this during part of the period of the Interim Council. (*Decision taken during the closed session*)
- 5. The persons listed below will be invited to serve as members of SESAME's Training Advisory Committee (TrAC) with effect from 1 December 2015:

Chair: J. Rahighi (Iran) from IPM (Institute for Research in Fundamental

Sciences)

Members: F. Fauth (France/Switzerland) from ALBA

S. Jones (UK) from the Canon Foundation for Scientific Research L. Miller (USA) from NSLS (National Synchrotron Light Source-II)

M. Nachtigal (Netherlands) from SLS (Swiss Light Source)

A.W. Thompson (UK) from SOLEIL

In all cases, appointments will be for three years, following which there will be reappointments for one, two or three years (with the places vacated filled by new members) so as to ensure the rotation and staggering envisaged in the Committee's Terms of Reference.

The following members of the TrAC will be rotated: K.S.M. Abusaleem (Jordan), S.A. Assaf (Palestinian Authority), J. Bashir (Pakistan), A.M.M. Moustafa (Egypt), A.M. Qabazard (Kuwait), O. Shimomura (Japan) and J. Susini (France). (*Decision taken during the closed session*)

- 6. The draft User Policy Paper and proposed amendments to Article 4 of the Rules of Procedure incorporated in Article I.1. of the Paper are provisionally approved with the changes agreed upon at the meeting. The Policy Paper will be used should a call for proposals be issued before the 28th Council meeting. The User Policy Paper and amendments to Article 4 of the Rules of Procedure in their final form will be approved at the 28th Council meeting.
- 7. Eligibility to education grants will be extended to Jordanian staff members in the professional category as laid down in document SESAME/AMMAN/27-C/15-13 submitted to the Council meeting.