## TWENTY-EIGHTH MEETING OF THE COUNCIL OF SESAME Robert Schuman Room, Berlaymont Building, European Commission, Brussels, Belgium, 30-31 May 2016

Decisions

The Council of SESAME took the following decisions at its 28<sup>th</sup> meeting:

- 28 C/Decision 1 The President of the Council will write to Professor Zafra Lerman, President of the Malta Conferences Foundation, to congratulate her on behalf of the Council for the 2016 APS Andrei Sakharov Prize that she was awarded. He will also write to Dr Steve Jones, who had resigned from the Training Advisory Committee (TrAC) following the folding up of the Canon Foundation for Scientific Research, to thank him for the great contribution he had made to the Committee's work.
- 28 C/Decision 2 The official opening of SESAME will take place in May 2017 on a date that precedes the beginning of Ramadan on 26 May. It will be held on the premises of SESAME. (*Decision taken during the closed session*)
- 28 C/Decision 3 The amendments to Rule 11 (Audit) of the Provisional Financial Rules and the procedure for the appointment of an External Auditor contained in the document *Procedure for Appointment of an External Auditor* (Doc: SESAME/BRUSSELS/28-C/16-03) are approved in their entirety. These amendments and the procedure for the appointment of an External Auditor will be introduced in the Provisional Financial Rules. The procedure will appear in Annex 3 of the said Rules. This Annex will be moved to the Financial Regulations once they have been elaborated. (*Decision taken during the closed session*)
- 28 C/Decision 4 The current External Auditor will be extended by one year so that he audit the accounts of the 2016 financial year. (*Decision taken during the closed session*)
- 28 C/Decision 5 Dr Syed Muhammad Javed Akhtar (Pakistan) and Professor Karim A. Tahboub (Palestinian Authority) will serve as co-Vice Presidents for a period of two years that will take effect immediately following the 28<sup>th</sup> Council meeting. They replace Professor Eliezer Rabinovici (Israel) and Professor Kamal Araj (Jordan) who took on this position after the 24<sup>th</sup> Council meeting in May 2014. (*Decision taken during the closed session*)

- 28 C/Decision 6 Professor Noam Simcha Adir (Israel) will be invited to serve on SESAME's Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) with effect from June 2016. He will replace one of the two SAC members being rotated (Professor Thomas H. Ellis (Canada) and Professor Samar Hasnain (UK/Pakistan)). Professor Wolfgang Eberhardt (Germany) will be invited to serve on SESAME's Training Advisory Committee (TrAC) with effect from June 2016. He will replace Dr Steve Jones who resigned from the Committee. In order to permit the rotation and staggering envisaged in the terms of reference of the SAC, with typically two seats, including renewals, being filled each year, the duration of Professor Adir's term of office will exceptionally be four years. Professor Eberhardt will serve on the TrAC for three and a half years. (Decision taken during the closed session)
- 28 C/Decision 7 The SESAME User Policy that appeared in document SESAME/BRUSSELS/28-C/16-04 and the changes to Article 4 of the Rules of Procedure incorporated in Article I.1. of the said Policy Paper are approved in their entirety. The SESAME User Policy will be re-visited at the latest four years hence in order to take account of any situation that may arise in the intervening period.