THIRTY-THIRD MEETING OF THE COUNCIL OF SESAME Room XII, UNESCO Headquarters, Paris, France, 17-18 December 2018

Decisions

The Council of SESAME took the following decisions at its 33rd meeting:

- 33 C/Decision 1 The decision to seek Associate status in LEAPS (League of European Accelerator-Based Photon Sources) unanimously approved in an electronic vote taken in September 2018 is ratified. (*Decision taken during the closed session*)
- 33 C/Decision 2 There will be two working groups in the sub-committee set up at the 31st Council meeting (31 C/Decision 3) to sensitize the scientific community of potential Members to the importance of SESAME for their scientific work. One will consist of Egypt, Jordan and Palestine. It will be headed by Egypt and will undertake efforts to encourage Arab States to become Members of SESAME. The Secretary of the Council will be the contact person for this group. The second will consist of the President and two co-Vice Presidents of the Council and the Director of SESAME, and will be responsible for drawing up draft guiding principles on the possible status of Associate Member of the SESAME Council. (*Decision taken during the closed session*)
- 33 C/Decision 3 A call for partnerships from the 33rd Council meeting will be distributed at the Information Meeting about SESAME for Permanent Delegations to UNESCO to be held after the close of the Council meeting. (*Decision taken during the closed session*)
- 33 C/Decision 4 Professor Rolf Heuer (Germany) will be re-appointed as President of the Council for a second term of two years that takes effect immediately following the 34th Council meeting in June 2019. (*Decision taken during the closed session*)
- 33 C/Decision 5 Mr Najibullah Khan (Pakistan) will be re-appointed as Chair of the Finance Committee for a second term of two years that takes effect immediately following the 34th Council meeting in June 2019. (*Decision taken during the closed session*)
- 33 C/Decision 6 Dr Amor Nadji (Algeria/France) will be invited to chair SESAME's Technical Advisory Committee (TAC). Dr Emanuel Karantzoulis (Greece) and Dr Pantaleo Rosario Raimondi (Italy) will be invited to serve on the TAC. Their membership will take effect immediately following the 33rd Council meeting. They replace two of the TAC members who resigned,

namely Dr Albin Wrulich (Switzerland) who had served as Chair of the Committee since 2004 and Dr Amr Amin Adly (Egypt). (*Decision taken during the closed session*)

33 C/Decision 7 The 2019 operational budget will be US\$5,288,613.20. It will be distributed among the Members as follows: Cyprus US\$518,551.45, Egypt US\$534,522.84, Iran US\$912,650.59, Israel US\$912,650.59, Jordan US\$518,551.45, Pakistan US\$912,650.59, and Turkey US\$\$912,650.59. At the time of the meeting Pakistan could only commit to paying 50% of its contribution. In view of the particular situation of Palestine, its contribution to the 2019 budget will be kept at US\$50,000.