## THIRTY-SIXTH MEETING OF THE COUNCIL OF SESAME Teleconference, 6-7 June 2020

## Decisions

The Council of SESAME took the following decisions at its 36<sup>th</sup> meeting:

- 36 C/Decision 1 The SESAME Experimental Data Management Policy is unanimously approved.
- On the unanimous agreement of all the Members, a decision concerning 36 C/Decision 2 Iran's status will be postponed to the 37th Council meeting. In the intervening period the President of the Council will stay in contact with the Iranian Authorities regarding the steps it was taking to find a solution for payment of its outstanding dues. This decision was taken in view of (i) Iran's commitment to develop its activities with SESAME in the capacity as an active and full Member indicated in the statement made at the Council meeting by the Acting Minister for International Scientific Cooperation at the Ministry of Science, Research and Technology (MSRT) of Iran, Dr Hossein Salar Amoli; (i) his indication that the MSRT was in the process of undertaking actions that would hopefully result in the Ministry being authorized to go ahead with payment of Iran's contributions and the Ministry's contacts with the Ministry of Foreign Affairs to find a solution for transferring Iran's contributions to SESAME; and (iii) his agreement that the share of SESAME's 2020 operational budget (US\$912,650.59) for which Iran should normally take responsibility be added to Iran's existing debt should it retain full membership in 2020. (Decision taken during the closed session)
- 36 C/Decision 3 After possible refining, the document *Associate Membership: Principles and Criteria* will be sent to the Members for comments, following which the final version will be presented to the 37th Council meeting for approval. (*Decision taken during the closed session*)
- 36 C/Decision 4 Professor Mahmoud Sakr (Egypt) and Professor Eliezer Rabinovici (Israel) will serve as co-Vice Presidents of the Council for a period of two years that will take effect immediately following the 36th Council meeting. They replace Dr Erdal Recepoğlu (Turkey) and fill the position that had become vacant in March 2020 after Ms Ioanna Cleanthous (Cyprus) ceased being a member of her country's delegation to the Council following the move of responsibility for SESAME from the Directorate General for European Programmes, Coordination and Development (DG EPCD), to which she

belonged, to the Deputy Ministry of Research, Innovation and Digital Policy. (*Decision taken during the closed session*)

- 36 C/Decision 5 The decision to appoint Dr Maher Attal (Palestine) as Technical Director approved in an electronic vote taken in February 2020 is recorded. Dr Attal took up his position in March. (*Decision taken during the closed session*)
- 36 C/Decision 6 Dr Giorgio Paolucci (Elettra), Dr Alexander Rack (ESRF), and Dr Joel L. Sussman (Weizmann Institute of Science) will be invited to serve on the Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC). Exceptionally, Dr Esen Ercan Alp (Advanced Photon Source at Argonne National Laboratory) will be invited to serve on the Committee for a further three years and Professor Mahmoud Tabrizchi (Isfahan University of Technology) will be invited to serve for a further two years. Professor Noam Simcha Adir (Israel) and Professor Herman Winick (USA) will be rotated. (*Decision taken during the closed session*)
- 36 C/Decision 7 At the 37th Council meeting, the Scientific Director will report on the users' satisfaction of their visits to SESAME. (*Decision taken during the closed session*)