FORTIETH MEETING OF THE COUNCIL OF SESAME

Grand Mercure Downtown Ankara Hotel, Ankara, Türkiye, 28-29 June 2022

Decisions

The Council of SESAME took the following decisions at its 40th meeting:

- The proposed 2023 operational budget and its distribution is, in principle, approved by all the Members participating in the meeting, with the exception of Israel that at this stage is unable to take a position thereon. This budget is US\$5,288,613.00. Its proposed distribution among the Members is the following: Cyprus US\$518,551.45, Egypt US\$534,522.84, Iran US\$912,650.59, Israel US\$912,650.59, Jordan US\$518,551.45, Pakistan US\$912,650.59, Palestine US\$66,385.00, and Türkiye US\$\$912,650.59. (Decision taken at the Restricted Budgetary Session for the Members)
- 40 C/Decision 2 The decision approved in an electronic vote taken in January 2022 that when a new Member joins SESAME, in the first year it will pay a one-time joining fee that will be 100% greater than would be its annual contribution in its first year of membership is recorded. (*Decision taken at the Closed Session*)
- 40 C/Decision 3 The financial chapter of the Strategic Plan for 2023-2027 will consist of two sections so as to isolate the new projects from the existing ones. One section will consolidate the existing beamlines, including the ID10 BEATS (BEAmline for Tomography at SESAME), ID11 left HESEB (HElmholtz-SEsame Beamline) and ID11 right TXPES (Turkish soft X-ray PhotoElectron Spectroscopy) beamlines, and envisage implementation of the gaps in the Scientific, Technical and Administrative Sectors, as well as replacement of the microtron. The second will include the design and construction of five new beamlines. There will be prioritization within both sections and in each case the related costing will be given, as will the expected origin of the required financial resources. (*Decision taken at the Closed Session*)
- 40 C/Decision 4 The Rules of Procedure will only be suspended in exceptional cases and on the agreement of all the Members. (*Decision taken at the Closed Session*)
- 40 C/Decision 5 Professor Kamal Araj (Jordan) and Professor Basri Salmoodi (Palestine) will serve as co-Vice Presidents of the Council for a period of two years that will take effect immediately following the 40th Council meeting. They replace Professor Mahmoud Sakr (Egypt) and Professor Eliezer Rabinovici (Israel). (Decision taken at the Closed Session)

40 C/Decision 6

Dr Sharmin Kharrazi (Tehran University) will be invited to serve on the Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC). Dr Mohammad Fareed Gharaibeh (Qatar University) will be invited to serve on the Committee for a further three years. Exceptionally, Dr Paul Dumas (Soleil Synchrotron) will also be invited to serve on the Committee for a further three years. Professor Mahmoud Tabrizchi (Isfahan University of Technology) will be rotated. (Decision taken at the Closed Session)