Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC)

The Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) is responsible for providing the SESAME Council with recommendations on all scientific, technical and policy issues that bear on the full and effective utilization of SESAME as a state-of-the-art synchrotron light facility, and on developments required to maintain the scientific and technical productivity of the Facility at the highest possible level and ensure its relevance to the requirements of the scientific community in the SESAME Members. It is also to foster the scientific mission of SESAME.

The Terms of Reference of the SAC are laid down by the SESAME Council.

The SAC meets as often as needed, but not less than once a year.

Committee Membership:

Committee Member Home Institution
Esen Ercan ALP (Chair) Advanced Photon Source, Argonne National Laboratory, Argonne, IL, USA
Wolfgang DRUBE DESY Photon Science, DESY, Hamburg, Germany
Paul DUMAS Synchrotron SOLEIL, Gif-sur-Yvette, France
Graham Neil GEORGE Department of Geological Sciences, University of Saskatchewan, Saskatoon, Canada
Mohammad Fareed GHARAIBEH Department of Mathematics, Statistics and Physics, College of Arts and Sciences, Qatar University, Doha, Qatar
Sharmin KHARRAZI Department of Medical Nanotechnology, School of Advanced Technologies in Medicine, Tehran University of Medical Sciences, Tehran, Iran
Giorgio PAOLUCCI Elettra - Sincrotrone Trieste, Trieste, Italy
Alexander RACK ESRF (European Synchrotron Radiation Facility), Grenoble, France
Marco STAMPANONI Institute for Biomedical Engineering, University and ETH Zürich ETZ F 85, Zurich, Switzerland
Joel L. SUSSMAN Department of Structural Biology, Weizmann Institute of Science, Rehovot, Israel

Ex officio Member
Scientific Director of SESAME (Secretary of the SAC)