The Chair of SESAME Users’ Committee (SUC) is appointed to the Executive Committee of LAAAMP

08 May, 2020

SESAME congratulates Özgül Öztürk, Chair of the SESAME Users’ Committee (SUC), for her recent appointment as a member of the Executive Committee of LAAAMP (Lightsources for Africa, the Americas, Asia and Middle East Project). She took up this position on 21 April.

It is a very great honour for me to work with such a committee, I will do my best and I really hope that my contribution will be of benefit for LAAAMP and for SESAME” said Özgül when contacted by SESAME to congratulate her in person. “From the beginning of the LAAAMP project” she continued, “I realized the many opportunities it offered for the SESAME users. Thanks to LAAAMP’s calls for FAST Team grants, many SESAME users have gained very valuable experience. Therefore it is a great pleasure for me to serve on this committee."

LAAAMP is a joint programme of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP), the International Union of Crystallography (IUCr), and other partners. It is funded by the grants programme of the International Science Council (ISC) and aims at enhancing advanced light sources and crystallographic science in Africa, the Caribbean, Mexico, Southeast Asia and the Middle East. LAAAMP shares with SESAME the goals of building regional capacity and promoting understanding, friendship, and peace by bringing together scientists from different countries and ethnicities to perform world-class science.

The LAAAMP grants for FAculty-STudent (FAST) teams allow successful applicants to spend two months during a calendar year at a LAAAMP Advanced Light Source (AdLS) Collaborative Partner to acquire expertise in accelerator technology or AdLS beamline techniques, including those involving crystallography.

SESAME features prominently in LAAAMP’s 24-page brochure entitled “Advanced Light Sources and Crystallography: Tools of Discovery and Innovation” that is available in Arabic, English, French and Spanish.


© Noemi Caraban
© Noemi Caraban Gonzales/CERN: Özgül Öztürk, Chair of the SESAME Users’ Committee, speaks during the facility’s inauguration ceremony on 16 May 2017